Sign in | Register


The Committee

Your current location:Home > The Committee > Members

Yangon, Myanmar

TIME:2021-09-17 17:31


Yangon City

Yangon City

Yangon City

Yangon City, the previous capital of Myanmar, is the largest city in Myanmar and the capital of Yangon Province. Located in the Irrawaddy Delta in southern Myanmar, it covers an area of 598 km2 and has a population of 7.61 million. 90% of the residents are Burmese and the rest are Chinese and Indians, etc. From 1855 to 2005, it served as the capital of Myanmar. On December 26, 2019, it ranked 254th on the list of the 2019 Global Top 500 Cities.

Yangon is Myanmar’s major hub of domestic and foreign transportation via sea and land. 12 transportation routes by urban rivers connect all parts of the delta and the upper and middle reaches of the Irrawaddy River. Only 34 kilometers away from the river mouth, the Yangon Port, with deep and wide water, can berth ocean-going ships of the 10,000-ton level all year round. The sea port is as long as 11 km, going from Dingin in the east to Aaron in the west, providing the largest throughput in Myanmar. 80% of Myanmar's annual import and export goods pass here. The trunk lines of national railways and highways also converge here. The Mingaladon Airport, 21 kilometers north of the city, is an important domestic and international airport and one of the best civil airports in Asia. 

Endowed with superior natural conditions and abundant resources, Yangon boasts three major export products, namely rice, teak and gems. Yangon's gems and jade are world-renowned, and its gem trade has become one of the country's main sources of foreign exchange.

Yangon is Myanmar’s national economic center with booming business. Business activities are around the delta area abounding in rice production. Since the formulation of the opening-up economic policy, foreign countries has invested in Yangon, mainly in fields of oil and gas, aquaculture, mining, manufacturing (clothing manufacturing), and hotel tourism. The major investors are Singapore, the United Kingdom and Thailand.